Cost of living woes

I caught myself confessing to a stranger that I am doing everything I possibly can to live on Maui. All the reasons that attracted me here are the very ones that lure me to stay.

Besides teaching 7 classes to 90 students, running two grant-funded projects, giving private piano lessons and ad hoc gigs, I’m also looking out for grants to apply during the three months each summer when I receive no income and need to revert to COBRA for healthcare, effectively doubling my health insurance payments.

But I can’t keep digging into my savings if I plan to retire with a peace of mind.

Recently I noticed many articles in the Civil Beat and Huffington Post about battling the unaffordable cost of living in Hawaii.

It’s nice to know I’m not alone.

 

About BLOGmaiden

As one of the earliest bloggers (since 1999), I enjoy meeting people who embrace "out-of-the-box" thinking and fear not the unknown. I believe in collaboration for sustainability because it increases stakeholder value.
This entry was posted in accommodation, activities, free, journey, music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

