Another perfect day in paradise

My friends who are buried under six feet of snow in the North East are probably wondering if it’s possible to have 365 perfect sunny and warm days and not get bored.

IMG_0229

This is what I wake up to. On the mornings I don’t oversleep and rush breakfast to get to work, I savor every moment of sitting on my patio and enjoying the view.

Each Sunday, the cruise ship docks into Kahului Harbor and sits overnight. It’s a reminder that there are other islands in the Hawaiian chain, other residents like myself who have come to paradise on a one way ticket to take stock of life. My neighbors in Utrecht had hopped on such an island cruise and told me about the sights. Each island is different, they had said.

IMG_0224

Lately I’ve been telling myself that I’m not a “newbie” anymore. I’ve completed four years, and I have no more excuses not to make a firm decision. Am I here on sabbatical or am I making Maui my permanent home?

Hey, I’m not ready to retire yet. I guess the best excuse for not leaving is that these sunny days are compensating for the cold, wet, dark, windy, and grey days in England and Holland — those years of being wrapped in layers of clothing, socks, shoes, hats, scarves, and gloves in centrally-heated rooms, offices, and concert halls. Seeing the sun didn’t guarantee feeling its warmth.

I became starved of not only sunlight but also seeing my bare limbs and flesh. There’s no better place than Maui to be a sun worshipper 365 days a year.

About BLOGmaiden

As one of the earliest bloggers (since 1999), I enjoy meeting people who embrace "out-of-the-box" thinking and fear not the unknown. I believe in collaboration for sustainability because it increases stakeholder value.
This entry was posted in journey and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

