Welcome to Maui Tips for Newcomers!

Welcome to Maui Tips for Newcomers!

As a newcomer to Maui, I am discovering many things that I wish I had known from the beginning or even before I arrived. All of the following are tips and advice I’ve gathered in the three weeks I’ve been on the island. Much of these concern how to improve the way one’s decisions regarding accommodation, food, orientation, and survival.

My blog post on Local Knowledge and Inside Information inspired me to start a new blog for newcomers who have already arrived, who are planning to come, or who are considering the options. The last two is written for my friends in mainland USA, Europe, Asia, and elsewhere — so they can come and visit me.

I welcome comments, feedback, suggestions, and tips and advice!!

It’s nearly Christmas! You can support this blog by ordering my solo piano CD (80 minutes of original music) including “Full Moon on Maui” at CDBABY.

About BLOGmaiden

As one of the earliest bloggers (since 1999), I enjoy meeting people who embrace "out-of-the-box" thinking and fear not the unknown. I believe in collaboration for sustainability because it increases stakeholder value.
This entry was posted in content and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Welcome to Maui Tips for Newcomers!

  1. Carol Y Snow says:

    Well done. Useful to many. I too started, left, and came back. For me I started in 2000 on the Big Island attending Hilo University. Over two attempts and two tsunamie evacs I eventually moved to Maui at a very grassroots level. Camped for several months and really experienced maui from a raw but real level. Met all sorts of people each with a different story of how they arrived, and most with amazing conviction and self sacrifice to stay on. Getting to know the people both local and new arrivals from the homeless level is intense and makes for great writing. With the rents as high as they have become you may be surprised at the number of professionals living in tents these days. Living on an island is not always easy, but the rewards are unique to any American city or town. I imagine this is so for Europe as well. I find Europeons do not expect as much as fast as transplanted Americans do. Interesting. Have you been following the sale of Lanai? or the town development for Olowalu? Great Island changes and so many local worries for the future of both these islands. Locals generally feel like they are the working poor and being pushed out of affordable housing yet still needed to work the jobs that the rich would not. I did not find this as much on the Big Island. The gap was much closer. e-mail if want to hear more. Take Care.

  2. Haley says:

    HI! I am commenting on such a late post because I have a lot of questions and don’t want to advertise me not knowing anything. haha
    Did you just move to Hawaii because you wanted to? Did you have a job lined up? And how were you able to find an apartment or place to live? Did you just contact someone before you moved over there? Or did you move out to Maui and then search around for awhile?
    I live in Louisiana and my lease is up in March and I really would love to move out to Maui, but like many people have a few concerns. Your blog is super helpful and I love reading it. But it would be nice to actually talk to you. If you could give me your email address.. I don’t know if that’s something you do or not. But thanks for the blog.. Like I said it’s super helpful.

    • BLOGmaiden says:

      Hello Haley, sorry for the late reply. Yes, I moved here because I wanted to. I only had an interview lined up. I stayed with my mom for a few weeks and then moved into an apartment I found. I was lucky to have my sister and mom here to advise me.

Leave a Reply

