Three years on: how to get on and stay on

Three Years On, composed by Anne Ku

Three Years On, for piano solo, composed by Anne Ku (click for page 2)

Three years is the invisible mark of being able to last on Maui. I made it my goal to last three years to convince others that I’m here to stay. Besides explaining that I came here because my family is here, that I bought a one-way ticket, that I took whatever job I could get to live here, it was necessary to pass the three year mark.

Incidentally, it’s interesting that the most searched phrase that reaches this blog of mine is “cost of living on Maui” —- interesting in that if you’re not concerned about cost of living, you wouldn’t need to read this blog. You’d be spending your time doing other things.

Certain behaviors that puzzled me when I first arrived now make a lot of sense.

People who live here are protective of their jobs. They dislike those that sound arrogant or come across as being entitled. They are weary of those who say they’re here to stay and leave after a few months or a year. These are interruptions that cause a jolt in the daily lives of the people who live here.

Plenty of smart, experienced, and accomplished experts come to Maui and expect to get a job — just like that. Unless your profession is in great demand, such as medicine, don’t expect you will get hired immediately. It takes a lot to hire someone better than yourself and risk yourself being made redundant. I’ve heard of army veterans applying for work as security guards, but their own qualifications top that of the head honcho. There are numerous better qualified people but there’s only one job.

It can be intimidating.

I have experienced it both ways. I was desperate to hire someone to help me. I was even willing to pay that person more than my own salary, but the rules didn’t allow it. I tried anyway. In hindsight, I should have taken more time, i.e. do the due diligence of checking the person’s references and having the person go through interviews with others, so that it wasn’t just my decision. In the end, the person quit after a few weeks. A jolt in the system. Poor fit. This has nothing to do with the person’s abilities and competence.

Yes, it’s all about the fit.

Will you fit in? Will you try to fit in? Are you able to get over island fever? Are you able to blend in and be a part of the solution?

About BLOGmaiden

As one of the earliest bloggers (since 1999), I enjoy meeting people who embrace "out-of-the-box" thinking and fear not the unknown. I believe in collaboration for sustainability because it increases stakeholder value.
This entry was posted in journey and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Three years on: how to get on and stay on

  1. Ronnie Tiffany-Kinder says:

    Written like a true kamaaina. If this is your final exam, you passed!

Leave a Reply

